Reviews

The perfect place to relax!

Stayed Jul 2013

Eleni D.

Left on: Nov 9, 2013

We stayed at Villa Elvina for a week at the end of July this year.The owners, Eleftheria and her husband Michalis, were very helpful and did their best to make our vacation unforgettable. Spacious and recently refurnished to a high standard, the villa is located on the tranquil beach of Drapanias with stunning sea views.The 80m2 pool was gorgeous and clean.The cleaner, Georgia, was very gentle and helpful.The location, detached and quiet, was the perfect place for us to relax in an unspoiled enviroment.Traditional restaurants and cafes along the beach, were just a few minutes walk from the villa. In the town of Kastelli, only 3,5 km from the villa, there are super markets, groceries, bakeries, pharmacies, banks and a health center. An excursion to the famous beaches of Balos, Falasarna and Elafonisi are must visit too. All in all, highly reccommended.

Best place, Best hospitality , Best Villa

Stayed Sep 2013

gal g.

Left on: Mar 25, 2014

We were two family spend our summer vacation at the villa and it was one of our best vacation.

The villa are organized just perfect for 2 families, the maintenance is great, the pool is ideal for small and big children and also for the adults. The location near the beach was fantastic for the morning swim.

But above all the service was the best you can get.

Any request we had was answer wrights away.

It's begun with the minibus wait for us at the airport, the day after 2 cars wait for us at the villa. And the best part was the breakfast every day supplied By Mike and his lovely crew.

After all that they organize for us a birthday party at Mike restaurant which was the best meal we had.

Eleftheria and Mike make us an unforgettable vacation and we sure we will comeback there again and again.

Peaceful Paradise on the Beach

Stayed Oct 2013

K V.

Left on: Dec 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Elvina for almost three weeks in October. It was everything we could have asked for, the sea is very close and you can hear the roar of the waves in the evenings.

We loved this area of Crete. It has everything you need within walking distance – restaurants, mini market and two of our favourites a small bakery with fresh bread and pastries and a winery! The area is an easy drive to Chania, smaller towns with local markets, the larger beaches on the west side of the island, and mountain villages.

The Villa is private, clean and has luxury comforts. It is perfect for a family or larger groups but was also the perfect retreat for just the two of us after five days in Athens. The family who own the Villa are lovely and generous and are more than willing to help you with anything you need.

We have told all our friends about Villa Elvina and we will definitely go back.

The home was perfect for our family of seven

Stayed Feb 2014

Terilynn S.

Left on: Mar 11, 2014

If you are looking for a place that is off the beaten path this is a place to go during March (we were told it is a very different place in the summer). The weather was such that only the toughest of boys was able to swim in the beautiful infinity pool but all enjoyed the picturesque view it gave to the garden and our children also manage several hour in the big hot tub. The accommodations are spacious but “homey”. Maybe a little too homey we had a hard time leaving to sightsee. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well furnished, well-arranged and comfortable.

El went to extraordinary lengths to ensure that every detail was covered. She met us at the airport in Chania late in the evening and escorted us the 45 minute ride to the Villa nestled a stones-throw from the Sea. In spite of the “low season" weather, we were able to arrange several family-friendly activities with El’s help - she definitely made sure that we were well cared for.

The people of Crete are very congenial, friendly, neighborly. Go as strangers leave as friends.

Highly recommended !! Hope we get a chance to go back!!

Beautiful Villa by the sea

Stayed Mar 2014

Gabriela D.

Left on: May 18, 2014

We stayed at Villa Elvina this past Spring. We had a wonderful time in Crete and at Villa Elvina. We are four adults and 2 children. My parents were traveling with us. The villa was perfect for our stay. We did not need to use the second master bedroom.

Since the weather was still cold we enjoyed the jacuzzi, and walks on the beach.

The layout of the villa is perfect for a beach holiday. There is plenty of room to entertain, and cook, and enjoy the beautiful view of one the bluest seas I have ever seen. The kitchen is state of the art, and it has all the appliances and implements you could need and more. There is even a Nespresso machine, like we have at home.

Renting a car is a must, as the villa is located 25 min drive from Chania. There are shops, a supermarket, and bakeries, in Kissamos (5 minute drive).

Our hosts, Eleftheria and Michalis, are absolutely delightful, and were always available to answer any questions. We fell in love with Cretan hospitality.

The property is spotless in every way. The linens and bedding are superb. The washing machine is brand new. There was a cleaning service once a week.

We would definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives.

We loved visiting Chania, and driving around Crete. One day we took a day trip to visit the palace of Knossos, and the museum in Heraklion. It was a long drive but we enjoyed it. We also went South to Phaestos. One of our favorites was hiking down to one of the monasteries close to Chania.

Something to keep in mind is that a lot of the restaurants close by are closed during low season. There is a mini mart, and a beach tavern within walking distance but it was closed in March.

Beautiful Villa by the sea

Stayed Apr 2014

Russ G.

Left on: May 4, 2014

Our family of four stayed at Villa Elvina for a week and couldn't believe how perfect the experience was. As soon as we booked we began to worry that the pictures online were too good to be true. However, upon arrival we were so amazed and the villa was even more perfect in person. The villa is extremely spacious and well decorated in a modern style that instantly makes you want it to be your own home. The kitchen provided everything we needed for meal preparation. The new hot tub/jacuzzi was perfect and gave us the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful scenery on the outside of the home even though the weather was too cold to use the pool during our particular stay. Although we couldn't use the pool due to the weather, it was gorgeous and was relaxing to sit next to. We found ourselves looking outside at night in awe of the pristine picture we had right in front of us. The villa offers a pebble/stone beach about one minute away and there is a taverna we enjoyed going to with a playground for the children which was about five minutes by foot. We thought the location was perfect for day trips into Chania and we really enjoyed the convenience of Kissamos being a five minute drive. The villa is completely safe and has excellent WiFi. Our hosts were amazing. Eleftheria and Mike paid special attention to our every need throughout the stay as if they were our own personal concierge service. Eleftheria picked us up at the airport to guide us to the property, delivered beach toys to the villa for our children, checked in on us in person during the week when it was convenient for us, and even arranged for special food for our family (cooked by her amazing mother) when we had to return to the villa late in the evening. We hired a local chef to cook dinner for us in the villa on the barbecue and enjoyed our dinner with both him and Eleftheria. It is always nice to find a place where the owners treat you so well that they become your friends. We travel every month and can honestly say that our stay at Villa Elvina was a dream come true and we can't wait to return!

-Kristen and Russ

Beautiful Villa by the sea

Stayed May 2014

Nora S.

Left on: Jun 19, 2014

What a wonderful vacation rental. My family and I needed to escape the city life. We chose this because of the location, beach access, food options, house, amenities, and service and were absolutely spoiled. The people were incredible. From the owner and her family to the staff and local shop owners, we did not want to leave.

Location: Outside of a city, private yard, fruit trees, close to a store/restaurant/bars and steps away from the beach and walking paths.

Beach Access: Across the driveway, literally steps to the beach. Gorgeous views, shore to walk on with walking paths nearby.

Food Options: Multiple restaurants from 1 to 10 minutes walking distance. Amazing, delicious, home cooked-type food. Grill and stone fire oven at the house, too.

House: Very spacious, clean, comfortable, large kitchen and eating area, pools, spa, great indoor and outdoor seating, multiple patios.

Amenities: Fruit trees, outdoor patio, pool, spa, professional staff around to help, private driveway.

Service: The house was clean, spotless. The local fisherman even came to explain the weather and catch of the day. The staff helped start the stone fire oven (to make homemade pizzas).

Inge 

Stayed May 2014

Left on: May 2014

We stayed in villa Elvina for 8 days and loved every minute of it. Eleftheria is a fantastic host, not just during the stay but also prior to arrival. She was very responsive, provided us with all the info we needed and was determined to make our stay an unforgettable one which it was. It was no problem for us to arrive late on a Saturday evening, Eleftheria and her lovely husband were waiting for us at the villa and made sure we knew our way around. The villa is exactly as you expect from the website and the photos, it did not disappoint, quite the opposite. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation on Crete and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Traumurlaub in Villa Elvina

Stayed Jun 2014

Patricia B.

Left on: Jun 26, 2014

Diese Villa ist wirklich ein Traum. Das Haus, das Grundstück ist wirklich wie auf den Bildern. Super gepflegt und super sauber. Selbst die Zwischenreinigung ist wie eine Endreinigung. Fantastische Gastgeber die super nett und hilfsbereit in allen Dingen sind.

Die Lage der Villa ist schön ruhig, aber doch so, dass alles bequem erreichbar ist. Der "Hausstrand" ist jetzt nicht der Schönste aber auch hier ist das Wasser glas klar.

Es war ein ganz toller Urlaub der unheimlich relaxing war.

Auf jeden Fall wieder und absolut zum weiterempfehlen.

A dream come true

Stayed Aug 2014

Aynsley P.

Left on: Sep 6, 2014

This was an absolute dream vacation for my family and our friends. From the moment we arrived we could leave all of our worries at home. We were greeted at the airport by the owner and guided to the house for a full tour of the property (she was even so kind to guide us, and wait for us, to the nearby grocery store and back at 9 pm!) The house was impeccably clean and every amenity that you might need from hairdryers and children outlet protectors to wine openers and a Nespresso maschine (with tabs) were provided. One can swim laps in the very well designed pool, lounge on the side or sit in the bubbling Jacuzzi day and night. The beach was right in front of the gate and while there were a few larger pebbles leading into the water it was absolutely NO problem and the sandy bottom and gentle waves made it a perfect beach for children of all ages. Although we had planned to cook and the kitchen was more than adequately supplied the convenience of extremely reasonably priced restaurants near to the villa and their delicious food allowed us to relax all the more. As someone that has travelled extensively all over the world from Bali to Chania and beyond I for one can highly recommend this villa and look forward to my return.

DESERVES SIX STARS!!!

Stayed Aug 2014

Abby H.

Left on: Sep 14, 2014

There is not a single thing I could change, add or suggest to improve upon this rental. My only regret is that I wish we could have stayed for a month! We enjoyed the house so much that we opted to stay home and relax for several days rather than explore the island. It is incredibly spacious and could easily accommodate a large family with plenty of peace and privacy. The photos seemed too good to be true but in fact it was even better than we had hoped for. The kitchen was VERY well equipped with everything clean and new. The pool and jacuzzi area is luxurious with modern and comfortable furnishings. The master suite was lovely, the bed as comfortable as home, and it had a remarkable view to the sea. The back bedrooms look out on pretty vineyards. There were four! different places to sit for a family meal in the house - 2 inside and 2 outside - including a charming terrace in the back with a pizza oven. One of the best aspects was the nearby beach taverna Mithimna - good vibes and good food with an extensive menu (they will deliver too!). The beach in front of the house was mellow with great waves for body surfing and free umbrellas and beach recliners (a rarity for Greece in our experience). The owners were so welcoming and friendly (thank you so much Eleftheria and Michael!).

Our excursions included the picturesque Venetian Harbor in Chania for dinner and shopping, Elafonisi beach which was beautiful and unique, and a drive around the rugged western coast to a tiny cafe perched on a cliffside where we shared our ice cream at our table with an inquisitive donkey named Petrulla. Then right back home to our lovely villa.

My only warning is...if you like noise and crowds, don't stay here!

Just perfect!

Stayed Aug 2014

Tracy A.

Left on: 13 Aug, 2014

Over the years we have often gone on holiday and been slightly disappointed with the accommodation when we have arrived but not this time. The villa is even more lovely than the photos!

Our party was 2 families with 4 adults and 5 children and the villa worked perfectly for all of us. There was enough space for " me time" but also plenty of indoor and outdoor space for us all to be together.

The outdoor area is just gorgeous and we spent many a late evening sat in the hot tub listening to the sea!

We just wanted to be lazy for a week and the location was perfect for us. It's in a small village with a couple of restaurants and a very small shop. The sea is literally over the road and the best taverna is 30 seconds walk. You will need to get in the car for larger shops or busy nightlife.

Eleftheria and her husband were on hand at any hour to answer any questions or offer advice.

We won't bother looking for anywhere else is Crete now - we've booked again for next summer!

Great place, professional and warm welcome

  • Trip Advisor App Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

Reviewed 29 Apr 2014

Left on: 

beautiful house with extraordinary garden and swimming-pool, directly connected to the sea. same as discribed on the web-site and the photos, even better. Eleftheria and her husband are very effective in order to have an unforgettalbe stay in the villa. The villa was perfectly clean, the swimming-pool and the jacuzzi were perfect. We were only 4 days in the villa and when leaving the villa our idea was to come back there as soon as possible.

total heaven, brilliant venue for Crete holiday

  • Trip Advisor App Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Left on: 

I cannot recommend Villa Elvina highly enough. We loved staying here;- the design with space and comfort in mind, generous sized rooms, the immaculate presentation, fully equipped kitchen and separate laundry, the location, so close to Chania (45 mins) to the sea (at end of front garden), Elafonisi, the Enneachora and Falasarna, the outside living areas and large front garden, pool, paddling pool and jacuzzi and of course the comfy beds and linens. Ideal for a large group, the house provides lots of different areas for people to have their own space and privacy. The pebbly beach is clean, safe and quiet and was virtually deserted in May . Fantastic for swimming and windsurfing etc. Thankfully tthis particular spot remains undeveloped and the larger bay area remains pretty much intact. Very special. The photos on the web site are indeed accurate. We enjoyed eating at Camping Mithimna across the road. Eleftheria is a natural host and a pleasure to deal with. Welcoming and warm, she is keen to make sure your holiday is a success.

Home away from home

Left on: 

I was travelling with my family, a group of 9. We had a perfect vacation in Villa Elvina. As we were travelling with a baby then it was highly appreciated that all the needed baby equipment was available. The villa is amazing but the most impressive benefit it has is the beach. To have your morning coffee at the beach in your pyjamas, this is a dream vacation. The owners of the villa are very friendly and helpful. Special thank you for helping my father to have his dream fishing trip. We have very good memories from that trip and hope to visit Crete again some day. Best Regards from our Family:)

Reviewed 13 Aug 2014

  • Trip Advisor App Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

Eine herrliche Lage, wunderbare Location.

Stayed Aug 2014

Bensen H.

Left on: Sep 18, 2014

Wir hatten einen wirklich unglaublich schönen Urlaub. Die Eigentümer sind sehr bemüht alle Wünsche zu erfüllen. 5 Sterne für alle Räume, die Location, Sauberkeit und dem Lebensgefühl tags wie auch nachts. Auf bald wieder...

Amazing villa in first row

Stayed Aug 2014

Rolf B.

Left on: Sep 16, 2014

Villa Elvina is probably one of the most gorgeous places in Crete. The owners read every wish in your eyes.

We will definitely come back 2015.

Beautiful cozy villa and great hosts!

Stayed Sep 2014

Maria D.

Left on: Oct 6, 2014

I and my family stayed in villa Elvina for a week in September. I am so happy that we selected it for our stay and regret we could not stay longer. There is no words to express how surprised and happy we were when we came and saw this beautiful, gorgeous villa and how much we enjoyed every day there.

Interior is very cozy and comfortable, the design is nice and light with lots of attention to details. You have everything you need there and even more.... Comfortable bathrobes, towels, toiletries etc. Kitchen is very well equipped and there is also a nespresso coffee machine:)

And exterior is what will stay in your memory! Spacious garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi (LOVED IT!), dining area and of course barbecue wich we enjoyed a lot. When it is dark the lighting makes all looks very special and romantic. We enjoyed our dinners outside and did not even want to go to the restaurants. The big advantage is that you can order dinners to your villa from a restaurant close by!

Location is superb - it is right on the beach!!!! this is a nice beach and not too turistic! Chania region is beautiful with lots of places to visit including amazing Balos beach!

The welcome and hospitality of Elaftheria and her husband beyond any compliments! Communication is great, everything was well organised, lots of useful advises and recommendations from them! And a nice touch was wine on arrival and a cake:) (spacial thanks for this!!!)

We can not guarantee this, but all of us wish we come back there again!!!

THANK YOU!!!

Amazing service in a wonderful and luxurious villa

Stayed Oct 2014

charlotte b.

Left on: Νov 6, 2014

Absolutely beautiful villa! Perfect villa and garden for the kids. Clean, exclusive and relaxing! The owner Eleftheria and her family really made our stay in the villa a vacation beyond what we expected by making us feel so special and taken care of! She brought us chocolate cake and champagne on my father in laws birthday in the villa, her sweet mom cooked us delicious Greek specialties one dinner, and Eleftheria helped us with tips on things to do and see. I will definitely come back, and can recommend the villa in every way!

Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Fabulous home right on the beach

Stayed Oct 2014

Emily M.

Left on: Νov 15, 2014

We have been very lucky to stay in many homes all over Europe and the United States, but never in all our stays have we been treated as well as we were at this home. The house itself is lovely, the pictures being absolutely accurate, the pool is wonderful with the little kid pool and jacuzzi, and the beach and view are fabulous. But Eleftheria and Mike make your stay even more of a pleasure with their beyond compare welcome. You hear about Cretan hospitality, and I believe they exemplify it. When we arrived, they had wine, a homemade traditional Cretan meal (made by her amazing mother), and even a birthday cake and candles for my daughter. That was amazing enough, but then they took us out to lunch for a traditional fish meal (amazing) and we had the best time talking with them. Then, as if that wasn't enough, she brought over yet ANOTHER meal made by her mother! We were so spoiled! The meals were large enough that we had leftovers to enjoy the next day! We came in off season, so one of the tavernas had already closed, but about 600 meters down the road there was one still open, and they just couldn't have been nicer. Huge bonus- there's a giant play area for the kids!!! I mean a full on playground quality play structure, swings, and teeter-totter! And everything they made was fresh and delicious. We were very unlucky with the weather, but that didn't dampen our spirits, as we had such a lovely home to relax in. Do not hesitate to book this property for your next vacation- it is top notch in every way. Thank you Eleftheria and Mike for sharing your wonderful home and hospitality with us. We consider you friends now, and you're welcome to stay with us in France anytime!

GREAT PLACE FOR A FAMILY VACATION

Stayed Oct 2014

Gregg L.

Left on: Νov 30, 2014

We had a big group of nine family members (all adults) at Villa Elvina in early October. We actually we're expecting ten, but one family member was unable to make it at the last minute. However, I think that nine was the perfect number for the house, and everyone had a comfortable bed. Others have already described the beauty of the location, the attractive house and amenities, and the attentiveness and hospitality of the owners, so there's nothing more that I can add other than concurring with their comments. The house is located very close to Chania, which has an airport with flights to Athens. Use this airport if you can - the drive from the airport in Heraklion is close to three hours. We found that we could combine a restful seven days with plenty of things to do on the western end of Crete. There are good tavernas within walking distance of the house and a larger town with ATMs, grocery stores, and bakeries a short distance away (Kissamos). Don't miss the nearby winery, the nice beaches on the southwest corner of Crete; and the many interesting hill towns. October was a great time to visit. The tourist season crowds are gone, the weather is warm during the day and very comfortable at night, and the sea temp was perfect. We ended our stay with home-made pizzas using the brick oven on the back patio. It was a very memorable vacation.

Beautiful and relaxing property.

Stayed Sep 2014

Tim S

Left on: Sep 18, 2014

Perfect location and design for families! Layout of the house and the pool/jacuzzi area was accurate and provided incredible access to the beach and local restaurant. Locals were extremely friendly but privacy was respected at all times. Owner is very easy to work with and accommodating! Property was very clean. Highly recommend this property to all looking for beach access and quiet/relaxing venue. Only 20 minutes from city of Chania which provides authentic Greek food and amazing shopping at opportunities in the harbor. Highly recommend this property!!!!